News Feeds Tab -- Plugin Request

18 years 3 months ago #3109 by dsendecki
News Feeds Tab -- Plugin Request was created by dsendecki
Could I get some opinions on how difficult this would be to implement?

Here's the idea: a tab that incorporates an RSS feed from a blog external to one's CB site. The tab would display a users X posts (from their external blog on the tab). This would work in a similar manner to Joomla's standard "News Feeds", in fact, I imagine it could actually use the News Feeds component -- adding the feed to that component (making News Feeds from all users browsable).

Let me know what you think -- if anybody's willing to help me out on this, let me know.

My PHP is getting better, but if I'm not hacking something, I'm no good -- and I'm still learning the CB API.

Regards!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

18 years 3 months ago #3316 by dsendecki
Replied by dsendecki on topic Re:News Feeds Tab -- Plugin Request
Hi Y'All,

Scuba was good enough to point out a hack he did for mod_fetchrss. I'll include it here. However, I am having problems displaying modules on profile pages, they only appear when I edit the profile, they don't appear on the regular profile. Any ideas?

Here's a quote from Scuba:

hacked the mod_fetchrss mamboforge.net/projects/fetchrss/ to display the individual blog feed of which ever Community Builder www.mambojoe.com user profile you are viewing at the time. You have to create a "My Blog Feed" field for the CB user to input their blog feed url. This basically eliminates the problem of creating a fancy Mambo compatable blog system. Now your users can use whatever they prefer.

See the attached file for the changes I made to mod_fetchrss.php. You will have to change "myblog" in the SELECT statement to whatever you name your user blog feed field in CB.

Right now this is set up to work in a module block placed below the CB user profile and it pulls the blog feed based on the POST id of the user.