Allow users to write their own tags and see autocomplete suggestions

3 years 11 months ago #318569 by rootgasteiz
Hi all,

I'm an absolute beginner with website design who is starting his adventure with Joomla! and Community Builder, so please bare with my basic question.

An important part of the website that I am trying to build involves users making searchable lists. I have created a tab on the profile page to store the list, and I have created a field (type:tab), to populate the list.

The idea is that the users have a space where they can type their own items into the list to generate tags. What would be ideal is for the tag to auto-complete based on the tags that exist in other user's profiles.

For example, the list could be "interests". A user might want to enter "bicycles", for example. As they type "bic" a dropdown appears and suggests "bicycles", "bicycling", "bic pens", and any other tag that another user has entered starting with "bic".

Ultimately the idea is to have other users easily find people with the same items on their "interest" list, which I think is best done by encouraging uniformity between individually generated interest tags, hence the auto-complete suggestion. However, I recognize that I could not possibly know all of the things that people might want to write, so I need to give them the ability to generate their own as well.

Thank you for your help!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3 years 11 months ago #318580 by krileon
Tags field can be used somewhat for this. It's basically a multi-select field except users can add their own options. However, it will not suggest options from other users. It will only suggestions options you've entered into the field in backend when creating it. There's no functionality to pull the default list of options from other users. This will be possible with CB Query Field once it provides the Query Tag fieldtype though.

Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member