[SOLVED] Updating fields in database row

4 years 4 months ago - 4 years 2 months ago #315811 by jimstrong
[SOLVED] Updating fields in database row was created by jimstrong
Caveat:- I am not a professional programmer, but have learnt my way around basic SQL and have also been using Community Builder for some years. I am hoping that I can stick with this combination.

I am tasked with setting up a database for a charity whose requirement is for an Admin to enter and edit user records on behalf of each user. Some users are allocated as Carers for other users (Clients) and the charity needs to track what these allocations are and when they were allocated.

I am trying to find a way to update fields in a database row / record for the Carer, triggered by the entry of data in the row/record for the Client.

So far, I have set up a multi-choice field so as to give each user a title of “Client” or “Carer”.

Then in User1’s (the Client’s) CB User record, I am entering the name of User2 (the Carer) selected from a Check Box (Multiple) field with a DB Query list and also entering a date in a “date first allocated” field.

I am then trying to achieve the User2 (Carer’s) record’s similar date and Client field to be automatically updated with the same data, thus linking the two users and allowing a search to be carried out - e.g. having a List that shows all User2 (Carers), the User1s (Clients) they are allocated to - and when they were allocated.

I have purchased a professional membership recently in the hope that CB Query Fields and CB Auto Actions would allow me to achieve this, but I appreciate that perhaps I am trying to force Community Builder/Joomla to do too much and there are other more elegant solutions using the relational capabilities of SQL?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

4 years 3 months ago #315825 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Updating fields in database row