Should I Have A Free Level of Subscriptions?

6 years 11 months ago - 6 years 11 months ago #293399 by bins
I currently have all subscriptions to my site controlled by CB subs with access controlled by the Joomla ACL and not CB.

I have been wondering if this is the right thing to do?

Should non paying/free members just register and all of the premium/paid members be controlled by CBsubs?

The reason why I ask is, apart from workflows, that I want premium members who do not renew to fall back to free members but cannot work out how to do this on the plans!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

6 years 11 months ago #293409 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Should I Have A Free Level of Subscriptions?
ACL gives you the biggest control over a lot of content, but there's some things ACL can't cover. More specifically things like changing a field value, tracking affiliates, or controlling access to a URL or part of a URL. All of those CBSubs would have to control. I would, for ease of use, configure as much as possible to be ACL based.

Having a free plan is based entirely off what your needs are. If for example you want them to select from 1 of 3 plans (1 being free), all are set to exclusive, and you need to control access to content with the free plan (e.g. free users can see XYZ, but public users can not) then you may want to create a free plan to handle that scenario.

Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--
If you are a Professional, Developer, or CB Paid Subscriptions subscriber and have a support issue please always post in your respective support forums for best results!
--