#92 J!1.5 SMTP with Authentication: Email not sent

15 years 4 months ago #79186 by sparques
Ok...I've read all the related topics on this problem, and I've tried the proposed solutions, read the readme file 5 times and went over the user documentation again. In RC2, everything is working just fine, except it won't send out a registration email. Emails get sent out by Joomla just fine with the Contact Us form...but there seems to be a disconnect between CB and the email function. Not being a programmer, I don't know any other way to explain it.
I checked all my settings and ensured that the email account had administrative privileges, had the email settings turned on, the Global setting is set for NO on the Allow User Registration. The CB setting is "Yes, Independently of Global Site Setting"

I ran the Synchronize Users thing and it worked great, but did not solve the problem.

So I decided to upgrade to RC3...thinking that there might be a secret global conspiracy with RC2 to stop the widespread use of registration emails.

But the RC3 Installation did not change my symptom.

So...there's little doubt that this is my fault. It can't be the software, so can any of you help me fix myself?

Post edited by: beat, at: 2008/11/08 15:13

Please Log in to join the conversation.

15 years 4 months ago #79191 by sparques
Replied by sparques on topic Re:Registration Email not working
I'm going to add something else to this problem that may help in the resolution. I am hosted by GoDaddy and use SMTP for the email service. The server is specific (not Local) and I must use the username and password for authentication on the Joomla Global Configuration.

Something tells me that this has something to do with the problem.

15 years 4 months ago #79221 by sparques
Replied by sparques on topic Re:Registration Email not working
Another piece to the puzzle...This doesn't appear to be localized to the Registration process.