Is CB suitable for me to build a business directory

9 years 4 months ago #253068 by herbie48
I'm a newbie and looking for some direction.
I want to build a business directory where public can serch via various related parameters and the advertisers can maintain their own info (via login) as often as they like (based on several different priced proformers). Will this template do this job straight off ? The info entered into specific fields in an advertisers profile would need to be able to update the listing via "update" button (?)
Thanks

Please Log in to join the conversation.

9 years 4 months ago #253076 by nant

herbie48 wrote: I'm a newbie and looking for some direction.
I want to build a business directory where public can serch via various related parameters and the advertisers can maintain their own info (via login) as often as they like (based on several different priced proformers). Will this template do this job straight off ? The info entered into specific fields in an advertisers profile would need to be able to update the listing via "update" button (?)
Thanks

Community Builder was never meant to be a directory extension - there are other Joomla extensions designed to support directories.

Userlists in CB are meant to list your users.

9 years 4 months ago #253236 by herbie48
Thanks for that, but does that mean it cant do what I want ? Or not easily ? I havent been able to find anything open source or without a high price tag, but maybe I dont fully understand all the jargon. What does "support directories" mean in your coments ? Do I need an extension of some sort and then a directories extension added ?
Sorry about the questions, but this is how to learn !
cheers

9 years 4 months ago #253249 by nant