Login - Registration - Synchronization Plugins

18 years 2 months ago #3245 by rick
Let me start by saying I am not a coder and have no idea if this is possible.

My suggestion / question is: Would it be possible to create a plugin for Logins/registrations/Synchronizations? The idea being that everyone with CB would just use the CB login module but enhance that module with plugins. That way if you use lets say SMF you would just install the SMF login plugin and from then on when you login or register with the CB login mod you would also be logged into or registered and Synchronized into SMF.

There could be login plugins for all your favorite programs including SMF, phpBB, vBullitin, Zoom, Coppermine, etc, etc, etc.

One of the biggest problems I see right now seems to be, not so much the physical integration as you can wrap just about anything. The biggest problem I see is the login / registration / Sychronization integration. It is bad enough with just Joomla and the 3rd part app but when you put CB into the mix it can sometimes be a nightmare.

Please think about this and let me know if it would even be possible. My guess is that it would require Joomla 1.1 as it is supposed to add extra hooks for something like this. We really need some kind of a centralized login solution. With more and more 3rd party apps coming out that require authorization this is getting worse every day. I also think that this new architecture / feature would help to entice more people over to CB.

Post edited by: rick, at: 2006/01/13 22:37

Rick

Running:
Joomla! 1.0.7 Stable
Community Builder 1.0 rc2
SMF 1.1 RC2

Please Log in to join the conversation.

18 years 2 months ago #4096 by rick
Well I am not sure why there is so little interest in this idea. Maybe the link below will ignite some interest. It is called "Com connector" and basically it is very simular to what I was asking for.