Remove username and password fields?

17 years 11 months ago #11559 by vhannon
Remove username and password fields? was created by vhannon
I'm new to CB (and Joomla in general) and I'm trying to create a registration system but I don't need to collect usernames and passwords. I just need to build my databse of users who want to be kept up to date. How do I remove the Username and Password fields from the registration page?

I've searched many forums and I haven't found an answer.

Thanks!

Vaughn

Please Log in to join the conversation.

17 years 11 months ago #11581 by dsendecki
Replied by dsendecki on topic Re:Remove username and password fields?
Vaughn,

Why would you want to do this?

The username and password field is integral to the idea of having a community "profile".

If you want to collect information from your users but not go through the hassle of registration then CB is not for you.

Check out Phil Taylor's Phil a form or search the joomla extensions site for "forms".

Explain better what it is you want to do!

I'm confused! :huh:

17 years 11 months ago #11582 by vhannon
Replied by vhannon on topic Re:Remove username and password fields?
Well, my client just wants to collect names and email addresses. And then email them with updates as to what's happening with the project. I inherited the project from someone and they were using Community Builder so I figured that's what I'd use.

Like I said, I'm new to the Joomla thing. Anyway, I do need the username and password stuff for one part of the site but not in general. (it's a movie website, general users shouldn't need usernames but press people should)

That's the gist.

Thanks for the answer, I'll check out the other form components.

Vaughn

17 years 11 months ago #11587 by dsendecki
Replied by dsendecki on topic Re:Remove username and password fields?