Users can't register anymore

5 years 7 months ago #307478 by stimpy
Users can't register anymore was created by stimpy
I've been using CB for many years now, but somehow I managed to break it. Users are not able to register anymore. After submitting the registration, there's an error 'You are not authorized to view this page!'.

I was hardening the security of my site, hiding cb listings and pages from public access, even though there was no menuitem visible for public access.. Somewhere along the line I seem to have tightened the security too much, resulting in the error. I did reset everything to the state it was before, but still I still can't manage to get things working.

I have a (hidden) menuitem of type CB-profile which is set to public. The item-id of this menu is being used as the itemid in the url when one completes the registration (the view=saveRegistration page). That should be enough, shouldn't it?
I've turned off the anti-spoofing setting. Emptied all the caches and turned off caching.

I have a copy of my site on a subdomain on the same server. There everything works fine, so it's not a server configuration.

Anyone an idea?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

5 years 7 months ago #307515 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Users can't register anymore
Registration can only show the "You are not authorized to view this page!" (language key UE_NOT_AUTHORIZED) error if you disabled registration. Within Users > Manage > Options set "Allow User Registration" to "No" then in CB > Configuration > Registration set "Allow User Registration" to "Yes, Independent of CMS "allow registration"". That's the recommended settings to block Joomla registration access, but allow CB registration.

Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--