linking menu item to joomla registration form

5 years 2 months ago #310507 by JSizzle
We're using Joomla version, 3.9.2 and Community Builder version 2.4.0

Sorry if this is a dumb question - I'm very new to Joomla.

2 different groups of people will register on our site. We want 2 different registration forms, so that we can say "Click here to register as group A" and "Click here to register as group B".

I've seen forum posts saying that this is not possible as the 2 databases will be out of sync. However I have also spoken directly with a Joomla developer who believes this should be possible.

We want to use CB registration page for group A and Joomla registration page for group B.

We have set up a menu item for "Click here to register as group A" and have linked it to CB registration page. The CB fields appear here.

We have set up second menu item for "Click here to register as group B" and have tried to link this to the Joomla registration page. We have gone Menu > Menu Top > we created a new menu item > Menu Item Type > and set the menu item type to Registration Form.

But now when we go to front end, instead of showing a registration form in this Menu item, it shows a login form.

Any ideas welcome - thanks for your time.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

5 years 2 months ago #310525 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic linking menu item to joomla registration form
That will not work. Registering through Joomla will not create the user in CB. Your database will be out of sync.

To have two registration forms like that you'll need CB Conditional so you can condition tabs/fields based off another field (e.g. a select field for them to select their type). Aside from that you can look into CB Profile Pro (3rd party extension) which might be able to provide what you're wanting.

Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums