Custom/Advanced Search - The answers

14 years 10 months ago #99147 by n_tag
I am new to Joomla and Community builder, so far overall I am VERY impressed. However it appears CB has one MAJOR flaw

- "The lack of a CUSTOM SEARCH tool for users"
I WAS WRONG. THIS IS 100% POSSIBLE OUT OF THE BOX WITH CB
Before the CB team start;

- Yes, I've used this forums search (hrs spent looking now)I should have subscribed...
- Yes, I know all about the List Management tool (it does not do what I need)Err, yes it does

I want to save new CB users some time and summarise what I've found out through this forum. There IS 100% A WAY[/b] to let users perform a custom search of profiles, based on their own criteria.

All I want is for a user to select 4 criteria (Age, Sex, Location & Skills) from drop downs, or even check boxes - click "Search" and for the relevant matching profiles to be displayed.

Post edited by: n_tag, at: 2009/05/20 18:58

Post edited by: n_tag, at: 2009/05/20 20:39

Please Log in to join the conversation.

14 years 10 months ago #99151 by nant
n_tag wrote:

I am new to Joomla and Community builder, so far overall I am VERY impressed. However it appears CB has one MAJOR flaw

- "The lack of a CUSTOM SEARCH tool for users"

Before the CB team start;

- Yes, I've used this forums search (hrs spent looking now)
- Yes, I know all about the List Management tool (it does not do what I need)

I want to save new CB users some time and summarise what I've found out through this forum. There is NO WAY (as of 18-May-2009) to let users perform a custom search of profiles, based on their own criteria. There is a commercial product which claims to be the answer but looking at the comments seems like a waste of $15.
( extensions.joomla.org/extensions/extension-specific/community-builder-extensions/6934/details