Upload to Joomla

13 years 1 month ago #157650 by codge1960
Upload to Joomla was created by codge1960
I have uploaded CB 1.4 to my hosting account (on GoDaddy) but cannot see the component in my Joomla website's admin area. I used Filezilla FTP as uploading through the Extentions Manager failed every time I tried (which the CB instruction manual says can happen).

I am a novice web designer so have very little technical skills.

Please can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? Do I need to switch something on?

I have another site which CB 1.2 works perfectly with but my new site is using Joomla 1.6.

Many thanks,

Colin

Please Log in to join the conversation.

13 years 1 month ago #157700 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Re: Upload to Joomla
Uploading directly through FTP does not install an extension. Please review your documentation for installation instructions. You did not provide what error you're seeing when the install fails by normal means. Joomla 1.6 and 1.5 are quite different, from install procedures to ACL a lot has changed. You may need to enable (or disable) FTP usage within Joomlas site configuration.

Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--
If you are a Professional, Developer, or CB Paid Subscriptions subscriber and have a support issue please always post in your respective support forums for best results!
--
If I've missed your support post with a delay of 3 days or greater and are a Professional, Developer, or CBSubs subscriber please send me a private message with your thread and will reply when possible!
--