Hosting, Speed, Databases, Live Connection Limits

14 years 4 months ago #118425 by envee
Hi there

I have been working on my subscription based website (localhost) for a while now and I am getting ready to host it live. I am aiming to get 500 to 2000 subscribers using it, of which I expect half to be logged in for most of the day. Hence, I expect numerous simultaneous database connections (I'm no technical expert - so I don't know how to work the calculations). I am running the following:

Joomla 1.5.11 in Legacy Mode
My Community Template 1.1 (with module enabled)
Community Builder 1.2.1 (with 1-2 plugins / modules)
CB Subs 1.0.3
An Auction Component with 3-4 modules
Few other minor components such as Add This, Google Analytics, youtube embedder

1) Do you think a shared hosting plan will be OK to provide adequate speed for my (500-2000) members? Do you think I need to get dedicated / managed hosting?

2) Of the above, it seems this will be a pretty database intense site. What are your thoughts / suggestions on getting it to run smooth and quick? do you believe that it will work well and where do you think I may face a speed bottleneck?

3) How many users logged on concurrently (and using the database) could break the website?

I'm no expert, so I need your advice on what I may be facing when moving online...

Many thanks

All the very best
Nick

Please Log in to join the conversation.

14 years 4 months ago #118430 by Rapunzl
nicolasvirtsonis wrote:

Hi there
1) Do you think a shared hosting plan will be OK to provide adequate speed for my (500-2000) members?

This depends on the server's speed. You'd have to ask your host.

Do you think I need to get dedicated / managed hosting?

Dedicated and managed are two different things. You will need dedicated if you plan to offer certain payment systems off your site, to provide security and conform with the requirements of your chosen SSL certificate.