error 500 when updating member information

12 years 2 months ago - 12 years 2 months ago #192942 by Heather_G
I'm pretty new to Joomla and was hired to work with an existing website. The problem that has come up is when a member logs in through the front end and attempts to update their profile, they receive a "500 internal server error". The error message reads, "The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request."

The changes show up on the backend, so the update works but the error message shows up anyway.

I contacted the hosting company to see if they had any ideas of what could be causing the problem and they found that the update script is looping upon execution.

Any ideas on how to fix this?

I just updated Community Builder in hopes that would fix the issue, but no luck. I am running Joomla Version 1.5.25

The website is www.cachecanada.org

Thanks

Please Log in to join the conversation.

12 years 1 month ago #193055 by bk6366
Any possibility to update Joomla from 1.5 to the current version?

bk
---
J1.7.3 / CB 1.7.1 / PHP 5.2.17 (no, not upgrading yet)
Current J/CB Project

'Terse'
Guide to getting answers
Please note that pm's related to CB issues will go unanswered. That's what the forums are for.

12 years 1 month ago #193057 by Heather_G
Replied by Heather_G on topic Re: error 500 when updating member information
That suggestion has been taken to the board of the organization. They are apparently discussing it. I'm hoping that I can solve this problem in the meantime.

12 years 1 month ago - 12 years 1 month ago #193062 by Heather_G
When I was searching the FAQs I came across the idea that it could be a PHP memory error. I ran the test found here: www.joomlapolis.com/support/tutorials/95-installation/18200-checking-your-php-memory