UddeIM Causes Server Lag & Slows Down Site

17 years 7 months ago #21112 by HolmesSPH
I have been using UddeIM for about 6 months... Perhaps longer...

The more messages in the UddeIM database the slower the site went and the more the server had lag... But not like one second of lag, at this point I can click inbox, and have to wait ten or more seconds before It loads.

I had similar issues with MyPMS Pro before it went to Clexus, except that the problem was during sending messages...

My site has over 31,000 + members, and gets ALOT of traffic..

I have TWO dedicated servers, one for MySQL, and one for HTTPD, and I STILL experience this horrible lag...

When I check the slow query log, MOST of the slow queries are from UddeIM..

I have tried to optimize the queries in the UddeIM code, and where appropriate I have set the queries to "LIMIT 1" to make sure it doesn't keep searching for more matches once it's found what it's looking for.

I have also tried turning OFF user Avatars and unfortunately it's still horribly slow...

I know there has got to be a way to fix this problem, but I just don't know where else to search!

Any help would be greatly apprecaited! :blink:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

17 years 7 months ago #21141 by nant
Are you sure its UddeIM related?

Here on JP we also use UddeIM and have alot of traffic and many users.

(we also now have a dedicated server but things were not that bad before on a shared host).

17 years 1 month ago #33285 by mattioi
Replied by mattioi on topic Re:UddeIM Causes Server Lag & Slows Down Site
I am interested if you found an answer to this? I am running into the same issue myself. I have a site with 30k ish members and my largest database *.MYD file seems to be 'jos_uddeim.MYD'.

Private msg'n is a big part of any community driven websites. What alternatives have you found?

Thanks,

(I hope thats enough ;) )

Post edited by: mattioi, at: 2008/05/22 16:30

17 years 1 month ago #33312 by HolmesSPH