Conditional Registration - Pass Test

17 years 8 months ago #18579 by oak21
Hello all,

I wonder if anybody hacked CB in the way that a registering person have to pass (with some level of success) a test, before he's allowed to register.

I have some tips from Joomla phorum and ideas, just want to know whether I'm not following somebody's steps...

Thanks, Oak

Please Log in to join the conversation.

17 years 8 months ago #18606 by mikko
Replied by mikko on topic Re:Conditional Registration - Pass Test
No need to hack, just write a plugin.

mikko

17 years 8 months ago #18653 by oak21
Replied by oak21 on topic Re:Conditional Registration - Pass Test
Well, I'm not sure I'll be able to do it now, I'm quite new to Joomla...

Naturaly, I would redirect the link in CB Login menu ("Get Account" or so) to my extra script wich I believe I can inherit to Joomla (add "defined '_VALID_MOS' or die" stuff) and if the test is succesfull, send it back to CB registration page. But if I want to be serios about security, I will have to modify this page to check for control code (generated, defined by my, passed to CB join-form).
That's mean I will have to modify some CB files. So I have maybe stupid question - when creating plug-in, I will have to replace (during installation) those CB files, which should be modified?
I think my skills are not good enogh to create Joomla backend dialog to allow administrators to change the test questions & required success level, but I can put it into db via phpmyadmin and figure it out later (and so eventual users can :-D).
OK, I'm gonna have a look on that right now. I will start with porting the test scripts from my old [own] CMS.

17 years 8 months ago #18658 by mikko
See the download for API documentation. There is an example of field validation. Similarly, you could write a valitation plugin that validates several fields agaisnt what ever you wish.

For plugins you do not need to modify the core.

mikko

17 years 8 months ago #18674 by oak21