question about IP access and institutional use

7 years 7 months ago #286097 by newone
I have reformulated these questions which (andrewn51) asked 5 years ago on here. I would like to do something similar and I am having a hard time with it in Joomla. I would really love to get some feedback from the Joomlapolis Community, and coding help!

I have an online, subscription-only, peer-reviewed, art journal. Think of peer-reviewed as scientific journals. One place you find a lot of peer-reviewed journals are university or college library, cultural institutions, or any institution that focuses on research. In university, student have to write research papers and they use peer-reviewed (scientific) journals to support their argument.

The online art journal publishes articles, reviews, and curated exhibitions (think of exhibitions as artworks organized under a theme with a general statement).

I have not used CB Paid Subscriptions, but it appears that access can be provided to individuals. That is, anyone can register and pay a subscription fee to access the subscription content on the journal.

Now, I need to figure out a way to give access to institutions. Because institutions are large by its very nature, they require IP access for their students and patrons. Instead of every student creating an account on a vendor's website, the vendor will provide an IP address for the institution to the vendor. The vendor will then configure their website so that any students or patrons on the institution's network can access the subscription content on the journal/vendor's website without a login.

Can this be done?

Because the journal publishes lots of images and photograph, is there a way to secure it so that only paid subscribers can access it?

Thanks

Please Log in to join the conversation.

7 years 7 months ago #286130 by krileon