Error

Please login first

[SOLVED] Showing Connections - Using Substitution

11 years 11 months ago - 11 years 11 months ago #200767 by ptemper
BACKGROUND
Some profiles are people; some profiles are locations.
'People' work at 'locations'

Using CB Connections, People connect to Locations and designate a connection type of "Works At"

I want to show a line in people's profiles ...
'Fred' -- 'works at' -- 'Factory A'
Loged in User -- Connection Type -- A Different User ID's Name

After reading through the tutorials from Kyle's signature, I learnt about Substitutions

The logged in user Fred [cb:userdata field="username" user="#me" /] works at [cb:userdata field="name" user="99" /].
Where 99 is Factory A.... I just have to make that user="99" 'dynamic'

Next I read about CB Query Fields, so after much fiddling in mysqladmin, I came up with this (I am very new to SQL)
SELECT memberid
FROM `mydb_comprofiler_members`
WHERE `type` = 'Works at'
AND `referenceid` = '[user_id]'

This gave me the id number of the target location. I tested it as
Works At = [cb:userdata field="cb_worksat" /]
logged on as different users, and the number changed appropriately.

For the last step, I tried
The logged in user Fred [cb:userdata field="username" user="#me" /] works at [cb:userdata field="name" user="cb_worksat" /].
But this did not work. A blank was displayed.

I guess that cb_worksat is not resolving to a number??
I played around some more with syntax guessing but wih no luck... Sorry for the long description, but I have tried to get as far as I can by myself.

But if someone could help me along the rest of the way, that would be much appreciated.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

11 years 11 months ago #200824 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Re: Showing Connections - Using Substitution
You can't use a substitution in a substitution like that. You'll need to also have your query field resolve the name then that should do the trick. Example as follows.
SELECT b.`name`