Profile Question

7 months 1 week ago #335166 by peanutp
Profile Question was created by peanutp
Hello,

I am new to Community Builder and have a question regarding profiles.

I currently use an extension called Easy Profile, which allows me to capture additional information about users during registration.  It also allows my users to view the profile information of any user, and it also has a user search function.  Easy Profile is not being updated for J4, so I have now migrated the additional profile data to Joomla Custom Fields - this works well.  The only thing I am now missing is the user profile view and search, which is why I'm looking at CB.
  • Will CB sync the Joomla user data (including custom fields) into the CB user list?
  • Does SB have the ability to allow users to view other users profiles (subject to permissions being set correctly)?
  • Does SB have a user search function?
Any advice is greatly appreciated.    The user search I can live without, but the viewing of user profiles is essential for my site.   Looking at CB, the other features could be something I start to look at.

Best wishes,
Peter

Please Log in to join the conversation.

7 months 1 week ago #335174 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Profile Question

• Will CB sync the Joomla user data (including custom fields) into the CB user list?

Yes, we include a field type within CB > Field Management called Joomla which lets you display and edit Joomla fields within the CB user profile. These can be displayed on userlists and searched as well. I however recommend just using CB fields and migrating that data to the CB field for more efficient storage and searching. You can see some userlists in action on our demo site below.

demo.cbdemosites.com/demos/community-builder/user-lists/grid-layout
demo.cbdemosites.com/demos/community-builder/user-lists/table-layout
demo.cbdemosites.com/demos/community-builder/user-lists/member-list