[SOLVED] Combine User lists

13 years 11 months ago #135472 by Kingsley
[SOLVED] Combine User lists was created by Kingsley
Hi
I am relatively new to Joomla and absolutely new to CB,

is there a way to combine user lists in CB?
ie take 2 user lists, merge the data togther and then sort it ?

I am building a cb database with each CB entry as a "family" (say 2 adults and 2 children) rather than a cb entry only having 1 person. Yes, i know not perfect database design but if I split them all as individuals would then have 4 (or more) individual records and duplication of postal addresses, phone numbers, contact info for each child of parents etc. So either way it is messy.

The problem is that I would then like to be able to create a list with all children (names) say between ages 10 and 15 all sorted by age.

So am potentially searching through more than 1 field (several date fields) and then harvesting only the relevant childs name (depending on date of birth).

Easy to search and sort for one child in the record, but need a seperate list to search for additional children. If I could then combine them and sort them, perfect.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

If I need to jump into coding and SQL ... any suggestions on where to head for info ? I have done similar with ASP & Access in years gone by, but not played much with php. :)

Post edited by: krileon, at: 2010/06/21 16:51

Please Log in to join the conversation.

13 years 11 months ago #135627 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Re:Combine User lists
Yes this is possible, simply create a new userlist (list 3) then set the Sort By to be whatever field you're wanting (Age field?). You'll then need an advanced filter to filter the userlist to specific age ranges. Example of advanced filter as follows.

[code:1]
`cb_FIELD` >= 10
`cb_FIELD` <= 15
[/code:1]

Of course replace cb_field with your actual fields database column (field Name within Field Management).

Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member