Please help me!

13 years 5 months ago #146716 by rsjg80
Please help me! was created by rsjg80
I am a complete noob to Joomla and CB.

I am a teacher and have been asked to set up a school website using Joomla. So I'm just beginning to get my head round Joomla and have this great idea to add a private area for students and everyone is saying how wonderful CB is for this.

But now I'm just confused!!!

Really simply, I've downloaded all CB stuff properly but need help how to set it up for my requirements - they're probably very simple.

I want a user (student) to log on with a username and password I give them and not be able to edit anything at all. I want them to be able to see a page specific to them that will hold some very basic data, but privately.

This is a primary school and we want to avoid any interactivity on the site - They go to the pupil page, they log in, see their data and that's it.

Can anyone help me? Have I even got the right plugin for this?! If you can help, please step by step because I really am lost with all this!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

13 years 5 months ago #146792 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Re:Please help me!

I want a user (student) to log on with a username and password I give them and not be able to edit anything at all.

Create users from User Management; for fields to not be editable you'll need to edit them in Field Management and set them to Read Only.

I want them to be able to see a page specific to them that will hold some very basic data, but privately.

Protecting an entire profile is not supported. To protect user privacy you'll need to edit the fields to not display at all on profile view or become a documentation subscriber and use the CB Privacy plugin which would allow users to protect their privacy.

This is a primary school and we want to avoid any interactivity on the site - They go to the pupil page, they log in, see their data and that's it.