Email Addresses Not Showing In Sticky

13 years 7 months ago #142742 by scharles
Email Addresses Not Showing In Sticky was created by scharles
When I set a tab to display "Button with Sticky overlay" no email addresses on my form will display. I only get the ellipses "..."

If I change the display type the email addresses display properly as they should.

I would like to troubleshoot this issue, but I'm new to PHP and Joomla architecture.

Can someone please tell me where the "Button with Sticky overlay" display javascript is being generated? I will gladly troubleshoot the issue and post a solution.

I have two show-stopping issues that really need the "Button with Sticky overlay" to work properly.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Steve

Please Log in to join the conversation.

13 years 7 months ago #142747 by scharles
Replied by scharles on topic Re:Email Addresses Not Showing In Sticky
Ok. I found the module where this code is generated:

adminstrator\components\com_comprofiler\comprofiler.class.php

The issue is in the function emailCloaking, but I'm not at a machine where I can step through the code. I will attempt to do that at some point. However, for the short term, I have a temporary fix:

1) add a temporary variable and set it to the incoming $mail variable

[code:1]static $steve = null;
$steve = $mail;[/code:1]
2) comment out the $replacement line and add the temporary fix line:

[code:1]//$replacement = '<span id="cbMa' . $spanId . '" class="cbMailRepl">...</span>';

//steve - temporary fix...
$replacement = '<span id="cbMa' . $spanId . '" class="cbMailRepl"><a href="mailto:' . $steve . '">' . $steve . '</span>';[/code:1]
Although this does not cloak the email address from email collector bots, it temporarily fixes the problem.

Thanks,

Steve

13 years 7 months ago #142748 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Re:Email Addresses Not Showing In Sticky
Already a known issue, confirmed, and bug report created by your original thread.