User ACL and European GDPR

5 years 5 months ago #308728 by adgilcan
User ACL and European GDPR was created by adgilcan
Hi there

I am completely new to CB but have been working my way through the manual and think it will be a great fit, for my site.

Before I get too far down the road, I wonder if I could ask for some advice regarding security, privacy and GDPR?

I am building a website for a community of apartment owners in the UK. It is absolutely crucial that we comply with data protection. As such, members will have to register before they can access the site and they will have to accept the T&Cs as a part of the registration process. All of that, by necessity must be in the public level of access. However, I do not want anybody who is not registered, or higher ACL, to have any further access to the site. normally I would do this by setting the ACL to Registered, or higher for all other pages. However, the CB manual suggests that this will cause me problems in several areas including the failure of the registration form.

I wonder if some wise soul could tell me how to go about restricting access to the site only to people who have registered and been approved by an administrator/ moderator? It would also be good to further restrict access within the site to other areas or documents depending on member responsibilities. This would normally be simple to achieve with User Access levels but I am alarmed by the warnings I have read in the manual. I note that there is a Privacy Plug-in but I don't know what it does and whether this would be worth paying for?

Your advice would be much appreciated.

Duncan

Please Log in to join the conversation.

5 years 5 months ago #308738 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic User ACL and European GDPR