Skip to Content Skip to Menu

[#3872] GJ Module Exclusion by group ID doesn't work for multiple ID's

  • djacouma
  • djacouma
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 22
  • Thanks: 1
  • Karma: 0
11 years 4 months ago - 11 years 4 months ago #219052 by djacouma
Hi --

When using the Multipurpose GJ module

If I specify a category to pull groups from (Include/Exclude in Categories Tab) but then list groups to exclude (Exclude in Items tab), only the first Group ID is excluded from the comma separated list

I tried

1,2
1, 2
1,2,
1, 2,

Only "1" is excluded.

I'm trying to exclude subgroups from the listing, which is why I'm having to use group ID exclusion.

I also tried putting subgroups in their own category or subcategory but ran into complications.
See www.joomlapolis.com/forum/153-professional-member-support/219061-gj-subgroups-not-listed-in-qmothergroupq-if-assigned-to-different-category-than-mothergroup#219061

I need one of these approaches to work, preferably the second one. Any council would be most welcomed!

Many thanks, dj
Last edit: 11 years 4 months ago by krileon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • krileon
  • krileon
  • ONLINE
  • Posts: 47939
  • Thanks: 8167
  • Karma: 1434
11 years 4 months ago #219064 by krileon
Joomla version? CB version? GJ version? Module version? What exact mode did you set the module to? Your first usage of comma separation should have worked.

You exclude groups from the Groups settings. This only works with the following modes "Wall Posts, Scheduled Events, Uploaded Photos, Published Videos, and Uploaded Files modes.".

Items exclude works for the following modes "Latest Categories, Popular Categories, Latest Groups, Popular Groups, My Categoris, My Groups, Joined Groups, Wall Posts, Scheduled Events, Uploaded Photos, Published Videos, and Uploaded Files modes.".

Most likely you'll want to be using the Items exclude and supply a comma separated list of group ids there.


Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--
If you are a Professional, Developer, or CB Paid Subscriptions subscriber and have a support issue please always post in your respective support forums for best results!
--
If I've missed your support post with a delay of 3 days or greater and are a Professional, Developer, or CBSubs subscriber please send me a private message with your thread and will reply when possible!
--
Please note I am available Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM CST to 4:00 PM CST. I am away on weekends (Saturday and Sunday) and if I've missed your post on or before a weekend after business hours please wait for the next following business day (Monday) and will get to your issue as soon as possible, thank you.
--
My role here is to provide guidance and assistance. I cannot provide custom code for each custom requirement. Please do not inquire me about custom development.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • djacouma
  • djacouma
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 22
  • Thanks: 1
  • Karma: 0
11 years 4 months ago #219098 by djacouma
Sorry for lack of detail. Let me try again:

Joomla 3.02
CB 1.9 latest
GJ 2.6.1`
Module 2.6.2

Basic Options:
Mode = Latest Groups

Tabs:

Categories:
include=1 and exclude=2,3 (that works fine)

Items:
exclude = 16,17

Items 16 and 17 belong to category 1, but are subgroups of groups in category 1 so I want them excluded (only want to show parents).

Only the first item "16" is excluded. Second one "17" shows up regardless. Inverted the order and 17 vanishes and is replaced with 16.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • krileon
  • krileon
  • ONLINE
  • Posts: 47939
  • Thanks: 8167
  • Karma: 1434
11 years 4 months ago #219102 by krileon
Have confirmed your issue as a bug and fixed for next release. I've created a below bug ticket regarding this.

forge.joomlapolis.com/issues/3872

The workaround is to use |*| separated instead of comma. Example as follows.

16|*|17


Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--
If you are a Professional, Developer, or CB Paid Subscriptions subscriber and have a support issue please always post in your respective support forums for best results!
--
If I've missed your support post with a delay of 3 days or greater and are a Professional, Developer, or CBSubs subscriber please send me a private message with your thread and will reply when possible!
--
Please note I am available Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM CST to 4:00 PM CST. I am away on weekends (Saturday and Sunday) and if I've missed your post on or before a weekend after business hours please wait for the next following business day (Monday) and will get to your issue as soon as possible, thank you.
--
My role here is to provide guidance and assistance. I cannot provide custom code for each custom requirement. Please do not inquire me about custom development.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • djacouma
  • djacouma
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 22
  • Thanks: 1
  • Karma: 0
11 years 4 months ago #219115 by djacouma
Very very cool. TYVM!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: beatnantkrileon
Powered by Kunena Forum