populate email field at registration - using cb auto actions and field values to make firstname@lastname.101215

8 years 6 months ago #271629 by jsrunder
Hello!

The goal is to enable creation of user accounts and not require email address value.

This company services the offline community as about 99% of their base. We need to create users (Members) accounts without entering email address and we realize this value is always required even at the J! core.

Solution?

CB Auto Actions, Tabs and user field values from firstname, lastname and cb_birthdate.

How would I set up a CB Auto Action to:

A. Two or more tabs, the first tab collects firstname, lastname and cb_birthdate, and click next.

CB Auto Action

B. The second tab has been auto-populated with values from firstname, lastname and cb_birthdate as an email address like: firstname@lastname.mmddyysixdigits as:
joseph@smith.080568

Concerns and considerations?

I'm not a coder, so I wouldn't have the first clue what to enter to generate the auto action within my site/intranet. Fantastic plugin, really gives me hope that it can be done.

(cb_birthdate is entered as six-digits (mmddyy) when staff enters new registrant info)

Can the auto action fire off when a registration tab is completed on front end and our staff click 'Next' to go to the second tab where the email field is auto-populated as noted above?

Thanks for guidance.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

8 years 6 months ago #271639 by krileon

A. Two or more tabs, the first tab collects firstname, lastname and cb_birthdate, and click next.

You don't need CB Auto Actions for tabbed/stepped registration. This can be enabled within CB > Configuration > Registration by adjusting "Registration Layout" as needed.

B. The second tab has been auto-populated with values from firstname, lastname and cb_birthdate as an email address like: firstname@lastname.mmddyysixdigits as:
joseph@smith.080568