[#5922] K2 Integration with CB - How does it work and how will upgrading K2 affect my site?

7 years 11 months ago - 7 years 11 months ago #280690 by davisJ
Hi Nant. In a previous thread you stated:

As I understand it the only thing removed is the ability to link a K2 author name back to a CB profile.

I just need to clarify this as I'm considering upgrading to the new K2 despite the lack of integration. I'm not a programmer but I've somehow managed to configure K2 and CB to work together using Auto Actions and the existing (now out-dated) K2 integration and they seem to be working well so far.

So, before I upgrade and then have to either reinstall the old K2 if this upgrade doesn't work (not sure if I can just reinstall the old version or will have to unpack my backed up site) I just wanted to clarify what the current integration does and how it will be affected:

Currently - when someone registers via CB, K2/CB automatically create a K2 account with the same username. Once confirmed and approved, the user is added to a specific K2 user group via Auto Actions. They can then edit assigned K2 articles via the K2 front-end editor after logging in via CB.

So - if I upgrade - does this mean that if a user logs in via CB, they'll no longer be able to edit K2 articles, as their K2 and CB profiles will no longer be linked unless you guys re-integrate? This is make or break for my website so if this is the case, K2 have dumped me (and a bunch of others) in the deep end.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

7 years 11 months ago - 7 years 11 months ago #280716 by krileon
Believe you're misunderstanding what got removed. We did not, have not, and will not (for the foreseeable future) removed K2 integration. CB Articles, CB Blogs, and CB Auto Actions will continue to integrate with K2 as they always have.