[SOLVED] Can I use CB Auto Actions to calculate?

4 years 2 months ago - 4 years 2 months ago #316179 by dklotz
Hi there!

I'm fiddling around with CB Auto Actions, trying to calculate a field value. What I've done so far doesn't work tho.

There are three fields:
cb_width
cb_length
cb_area

What I'm trying to do is calculate the cb_area value.
It's a simple multiplication: [cb_width] * [cb_length] = [cb_area]

Please, can someone explain how to do this with CB Auto Actions?
If it is possible at all...
Would be great to have some step-by-step instructions as I'm completely new to CB Auto Actions and I'm quite puzzled how to get this to work.

Thanks for any advice!

Dirk

Please Log in to join the conversation.

4 years 2 months ago - 4 years 2 months ago #316183 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Can I use CB Auto Actions to calculate?
Yes, it can be used for math. You need to use the math format function. You can enable format functions under the Parameters tab. Details on how to use format functions can also be found under the Parameters tab. You'd likely need to do this anytime profile is updated and after registrations. So the following for example should work.

Global
Triggers: onAfterUserRegistration, onAfterNewUser, onAfterUpdateUser, onAfterUserUpdate
Type: Field
User: Automatic
Access: Everybody
Action
Field: cb_area
Operator: Set
Value:
[cb:parse function="math"][cb_width] * [cb_length][/cb:parse]
Parameters
Format Functions: Yes

You don't need CB Auto Actions for that though. You should be able to just use a Code field provided by CB Code Field and do your math entirely with some PHP. Example as follows.

return (int) '[cb_width]' * (int) '[cb_length]';

As long as you don't need the value stored in the database directly this should be sufficient for your needs, but if you need the value stored (e.g. searching purposes) you'll need to use CB Auto Actions.

Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member