Can CB or Group Jive provide this functionality?

11 years 1 month ago #221044 by gravesie
I want to know if GroupJive or Community builder can do the following, maybe with the addition of plugins developed by me if necessary. I am new to Community Builder and would love some help please. We have tried Videogals but with little or no documentation and hard coded mark-up are finding it very difficult to adapt.
Have:
The sharing permissions are based on which Group the media belongs to NOT the User. It is the media that has the viewable permissions; this allows the User and Admin to share or keep media private.
Groups:
• Public - set with permissions for all to see
• Private – set with permissions for logged in User ( to see own media)
• My Friends – set with permissions for Registered Users set as My Friends to see

Users:
• Each user can either upload audio / video OR add a link to Vimeo or YouTube
• Add / Change the group(permissions) of the media
• Can add comments to media (not sure if moderated or not yet)

Media:
• View media depending on which group it belongs to - Private, My friends or Public
• Viewed on its own page (thus providing access permissions depending on which Group it belongs to)
• Add additional fields to the media that an Administrator could maintain e.g. featured on home page

Eventually there will be a fee paying subscription to view media and comments to Registered Users.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

11 years 1 month ago #221047 by krileon
GroupJive Groups have the following types in addition to access (usergroup based) permission.

Public - Can be joined by anyone, data visibility is based off "Public" parameters of integration tabs.. so can be Publicly joined, but content is private to the group, etc..

Approval - Can be viewed and joined, but join needs to be approved by group owner, group admin, or group moderator... see Public description for data public display.