Multiple value upload feature for drop down list

16 years 8 months ago #43997 by t.jenner
Thought I would post here because I'm quite new to this open source stuff. I've just spent a considerable amount of time using phpMyAdmin to insert some rather long value lists requested by a client for some drop down menus. Essentially cutting and the pasting the values in separately using 'add value' button was going to be a bit tedious so I just converted his list to an sql statement and ran it via phpMyAdmin. Hardly ground breaking I know and there were a few problems.

What I was thinking about was actually building the functionality into the CB back end where users could cut and paste a comma separated list and the system would then insert the values into the specified list.

I'm quite happy to undertake this work, probably will anyway and as I understand it have to make any modified code I come up with publicly available under the terms of the GNU license. What I was wondering is

1) If anyone is already working on something like this?

and

2) If there is some kind of development area or something to which I can submit this code as oppose to just posting it on my own site? :dry:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

16 years 8 months ago #44009 by beat
I'm not very happy with the multiple values handling of CB in the backend.

Although quite user-friendly with a small number of values, it's becomming a nightmare with lots of values (well after some point it becomes a nightmare for the front-end user too :D ).

You can sure make improvement proposals here :)

Beat - Community Builder Team Member

Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly -- Help us spend more time coding by helping others in this forum, many thanks :)
CB links: Our membership - CBSubs - Templates - Hosting - Forge - Send me a Private Message (PM) only for private/confidential info

16 years 8 months ago #44016 by t.jenner