Logical error: User - Admin Rights CB 1.2

15 years 10 months ago #65705 by tschersich
Logical error: User - Admin Rights CB 1.2 was created by tschersich
I'm afraid I found another logical error in CB 1.2 RC1:

My users are not allowed to change their user names, because we follow a certain standard. When they register with a user name that does not fit the given standards, i usually change it in the backend, which I can't do anymore because of my restrictions for normal registered users?! That does not make sense. As a super administrator, I should be able to change any field value regardless of the rights I've set for my users.

This worked fine in CB 1.1

- Joomla 1.0.15
- CB 1.2 RC 1
- upgrade method: expert from 1.1

Please Log in to join the conversation.

15 years 10 months ago #65726 by nant
tschersich wrote:

I'm afraid I found another logical error in CB 1.2 RC1:

Please remind me of previous logical errors...

My users are not allowed to change their user names, because we follow a certain standard. When they register with a user name that does not fit the given standards, i usually change it in the backend, which I can't do anymore because of my restrictions for normal registered users?! That does not make sense. As a super administrator, I should be able to change any field value regardless of the rights I've set for my users.

This worked fine in CB 1.1

- Joomla 1.0.15
- CB 1.2 RC 1
- upgrade method: expert from 1.1

Just tried this and IMHO it works as designed.

I have set the username field as registration=Yes and readonly = Yes. This means that the user can submit a username during registration but cannot change it in the future.

I have also set the Field Validation in Admin parameter to No (in CB Configuration -> User Profile).
This means that all validations are ignored when an admin edits the profile from the backend. Have you a similar setup? This has been present and working in CB 1.1 also.

15 years 10 months ago #65735 by tschersich