CB 2 Should be optimized for J 1.5, J1.6

13 years 6 months ago #145410 by latino
Hi All:

Will post this to start a discussion (as end user) about what (platform) CB should be focused. Some arguments could generate controversy or opposite opinions. What I would like is the platform to evolve, to renovate and to be optimized. Please note I am not a developer.

I am not sure if this have been stated but my strongest point is that Community Builder 2 should only support Joomla 1.5, Joomla 1.6. It is time to drop support for Joomla 1.0 and Mambo.

By focusing on Joomla 1.5 and Joomla 1.6, I am confident the platform could benefit from features introduced in those versions. Sometimes is easy to find why to keep support for older versions. Moreover if there are still some users relying on those older platforms. However, IMO that could be causing a slower development for CB.

Sometimes there are difficult decisions regarding software. When Apple decided to move on and left their proprietary OS for adopting the Linux Kernel. Vision requires to move on, to move into the future.

I like a lot CB but, I feel it is loosing appeal. Also, the strongest message that CB is being renovated (IMO) is derived from a determination to support Joomla 1.5 and Joomla 1.6.

Finally, it have been stated many times. A renovated forum is in order many times ago. If possible, that could be matched by a renovated website.

Don't get mad with me. Please. I am just trying to present a point of view.

Regards!

B)

Post edited by: latino, at: 2010/11/03 02:10

Post edited by: latino, at: 2010/11/03 02:14

Please Log in to join the conversation.

13 years 6 months ago #145431 by beat
Very good points, agreeing. Why should we get mad ? :)

Some factual news to share:

- Our new website is almost ready now finally, new more professional content and new forum of course are there, it is currently undergoing final qualifications and tests :)