Skip to Content Skip to Menu

User Groups Plugin

• Red1000
  • Red1000
18 years 4 months ago #3143 by Red1000
User Groups Plugin was created by Red1000
Hello all,

I was wondering if there was a sturdy component available already that would allow only certain users access to certain site material… I would like to have let’s say, 10 groups and allow each group a different ranking, and relevant access to other users, content, and various site material. I have researched this problem and found the most publicized components available here: Popular Joomla Components under “Group Access”.

I wanted to ask your professional opinions before I go further, because I am new to Joomla and didn’t want to make any live mistakes. I was also curious to know if any of these preexisting components allow the level of control I am looking for…

I was wondering how easy it would be to tie a grouping system into CB so that each user’s group appears as a tab, and users are allowed to create unrelated subordinate groups (a feature you can find on MySpace.com or Facebook.com for example).

I read somewhere that the CB team was waiting until the API in Joomla was improved to allow these further modifications, so please excuse me if I am missing a bit!

Also, hats off, you are all amazing!

Joomla 1.0.8 + CB Stable

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• dsendecki
  • dsendecki
18 years 4 months ago #3144 by dsendecki
Replied by dsendecki on topic Re:User Groups Plugin
This'll do what ya need:

www.byostech.com/component/option,com_joomlaboard/Itemid,6/func,view/id,190/catid,5/

This component makes modifications to Joomla Core files and DB, so it maybe difficult to upgrade in the future.

Other people have used JACL with RC2, though and it works, I understand.

• Red1000
  • Red1000
18 years 4 months ago #3148 by Red1000
Replied by Red1000 on topic Re:User Groups Plugin