Need "User Agreement" type checkbox - FB login

12 years 1 month ago #197106 by jonmejoy
Hello,

I can enforce user to accept my website's User Agreement via CB Registration Form. I need to enforce the same for users that log in with their Facebook/Twitter ID. I can't do that today because these users bypass CB registration.

I can't find a straight forward way to add, e.g. a User Agreement Accept checkbox (I am a Joomla/php newbie). My original plan was to provide a redirect url for users coming in via FB/Twitter and land them on a page that has the User Agreement checkbox. But I can't figure if this is the best way, if so, how to implement.

I am sure other users have faced this rather common scenario. Either way, please suggest a "best practice" way to implement this.

Many thanks!
Jonmejoy

Please Log in to join the conversation.

12 years 1 month ago #197223 by krileon

I can enforce user to accept my website's User Agreement via CB Registration Form. I need to enforce the same for users that log in with their Facebook/Twitter ID. I can't do that today because these users bypass CB registration.

Facebook
Navigate to your Application then click Edit App. Now click "Auth Dialog" on the menu to the left. Once done specify your terms and conditions URL in the "Terms of Service URL:" parameter. Now save your App. You've now tied your terms and conditions to your Facebook application. Just to be safe you may also want to do the same under "Advanced" to ensure either/or display will result in the URL showing.

Twitter
You're basically out of luck as they have no such feature.

I can't find a straight forward way to add, e.g. a User Agreement Accept checkbox (I am a Joomla/php newbie). My original plan was to provide a redirect url for users coming in via FB/Twitter and land them on a page that has the User Agreement checkbox. But I can't figure if this is the best way, if so, how to implement.