#141 Registration passwd with auto-password

15 years 3 months ago #82445 by wjvonalt
I'll admit, I'm a newbie to both CB and Joomla!, but I've done enough experimenting with this that I'm fairly certain it's not user error. Here's my scenario:

If I enable user self-registration, require e-mail verification, and require moderator-approval, the entire workflow works fine... the user can register, receives the confirmation e-mail, validates address, moderator recevies e-mail, logs in thru fron-end and sees new user pending in CB Workflow module, and can click to accept, and user recevies confirmation and can now log in with credentials specified at time of registration.

Now for the problem - if I enable the "auto-generate random password" feature (rather than letting user choose one at registration), the whole process breaks down (multiple failures/bugs). Here are the results of having user self-registration, requrie e-mail validation, require approval, and auto-generate random password enabled:

1. User registers and receives validation e-mail. This e-mail contains a randomly generated password in cleartext.

2. User clicks link to validate e-mail address. Moderator receives e-mail notice that there is action pending.

3. Moderator logs into front-end and sees action pending in CB Worflows, clicks thru to approve new user (just as before), and it appears to work. Notice is displayed on moderator's screen that action was successful.

4. User recevies e-mail notice that account has been approved, e-mail contains username and password, but the password appears to be a hash as it is a very long hexadecimal string. I do not know if this is a has of the first password that was sent, or a new random string. user cannot login using either the first password that they received in e-mail nor the hash string.