Skip to Content Skip to Menu

Position Right in Module Manager is not working

  • 5producer
  • 5producer
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Karma: 0
14 years 9 months ago #108539 by 5producer
Hi,
Hope you can help. I have my website for almost a year.

Yesterday I installed the CBSubs 102 - I worked in the backend only. Today I continued working with the Subs and noticed on the front-end that all the modules that I had on the Position Right (of the template) disappeared on all the pages. I went to Module Manager and checked the modules: it shows that they are published (as before) but nothing shows up on the pages.

No modules show on the Right Position of my template after installing CBsubs.

I have the latest CB and Joomla 1.5.4

Post edited by: 5producer, at: 2009/08/19 17:07

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • krileon
  • krileon
  • ONLINE
  • Posts: 68618
  • Thanks: 9109
  • Karma: 1434
14 years 9 months ago #108551 by krileon
Double check your versions:
CB: 1.2.1
CBSubs: 1.0.2
Joomla: 1.5.14

Did you protect the modules with a plan? Are you able to see the modules logged in as a Super Administrator? Are the modules set to show to public or registered? If registered what happens when logged in as Registered? Have you tried the default Joomla template? If so, what happens; are modules displayed?


Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--
If you are a Professional, Developer, or CB Paid Subscriptions subscriber and have a support issue please always post in your respective support forums for best results!
--
If I've missed your support post with a delay of 3 days or greater and are a Professional, Developer, or CBSubs subscriber please send me a private message with your thread and will reply when possible!
--
Please note I am available Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM CST to 4:00 PM CST. I am away on weekends (Saturday and Sunday) and if I've missed your post on or before a weekend after business hours please wait for the next following business day (Monday) and will get to your issue as soon as possible, thank you.
--
My role here is to provide guidance and assistance. I cannot provide custom code for each custom requirement. Please do not inquire me about custom development.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • 5producer
  • 5producer
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Karma: 0
14 years 9 months ago #108557 by 5producer
Hi krileon,
Thanks for quick reply.

I have:
Joomla! 1.5.4 Production/Stable [ Naiki ]
CB - 1.2.1 - I renewed successfully from the previous version one month ago.


I don't know if I did protect or not - how to find out?

When I login as administrator, still nothing shows up.
Modules are set to public - nothing shows up.
When logged as registered - nothing shows up.

I tried the default template - the right modules are displayed.

The website was working properly before installation of SUBS. I checked also if I unpublished the plugins and the module of SUBS - still the same problem, no right modules.

Post edited by: 5producer, at: 2009/08/19 18:12

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • krileon
  • krileon
  • ONLINE
  • Posts: 68618
  • Thanks: 9109
  • Karma: 1434
14 years 9 months ago #108593 by krileon
5producer wrote:

I tried the default template - the right modules are displayed.


The issue is template related then if the default template functions properly, ensure you did not make any critical CSS changes or perhaps upgrading your template? Changed templates to a new one with no right position or right position is a different name (e.g. user1).


Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--
If you are a Professional, Developer, or CB Paid Subscriptions subscriber and have a support issue please always post in your respective support forums for best results!
--
If I've missed your support post with a delay of 3 days or greater and are a Professional, Developer, or CBSubs subscriber please send me a private message with your thread and will reply when possible!
--
Please note I am available Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM CST to 4:00 PM CST. I am away on weekends (Saturday and Sunday) and if I've missed your post on or before a weekend after business hours please wait for the next following business day (Monday) and will get to your issue as soon as possible, thank you.
--
My role here is to provide guidance and assistance. I cannot provide custom code for each custom requirement. Please do not inquire me about custom development.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • 5producer
  • 5producer
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Karma: 0
14 years 9 months ago #108616 by 5producer
Thanks again for your attention.

I didn't do any CSS changes or upgrades. Last 2 days I was only working on SUBS.
I checked the templateDetails.xml - the right position exists. I have no idea what to do, other than use the backup and loose all my work on SUBS.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • krileon
  • krileon
  • ONLINE
  • Posts: 68618
  • Thanks: 9109
  • Karma: 1434
14 years 9 months ago #108626 by krileon
5producer wrote:

Thanks again for your attention.

I didn't do any CSS changes or upgrades. Last 2 days I was only working on SUBS.
I checked the templateDetails.xml - the right position exists. I have no idea what to do, other than use the backup and loose all my work on SUBS.


Doesn't make sense as to why CBSubs would do this when you say it works fine on the default template. Something on the template has to of changed.

Perhaps CBSubs is using a same CSS class that your template is using, but if that was the case it certainly wouldn't suddenly do this like some sort of time bomb.

Post edited by: krileon, at: 2009/08/20 02:41


Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--
If you are a Professional, Developer, or CB Paid Subscriptions subscriber and have a support issue please always post in your respective support forums for best results!
--
If I've missed your support post with a delay of 3 days or greater and are a Professional, Developer, or CBSubs subscriber please send me a private message with your thread and will reply when possible!
--
Please note I am available Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM CST to 4:00 PM CST. I am away on weekends (Saturday and Sunday) and if I've missed your post on or before a weekend after business hours please wait for the next following business day (Monday) and will get to your issue as soon as possible, thank you.
--
My role here is to provide guidance and assistance. I cannot provide custom code for each custom requirement. Please do not inquire me about custom development.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: beatnantkrileon
Powered by Kunena Forum

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn